top of page
Search

Professionalism 101



Disclaimer...this blog may come off a little blunt and harsh. Please know that as I write this, I am also reflecting on my own actions/behaviors during my 16 year career. I know that I have come a long way during this time! Throughout my career, I have experienced and learned a lot. Because of this, I can get on a soapbox real quick when discussing professionalism. If you ask my faculty/staff, they will tell you that "teacher professionalism" is one of the very few things that can raise my blood pressure and cause me to get sideways! As I have stated before, I have high expectations for my faculty. I expect them to be Above the Line at all times. For me, a huge characteristic of being Above the Line is being professional.

Part of being an educator is modeling. We are not only modeling during instruction. We are serving as models to our students 24/7. They watch how we converse with our colleagues. The see their teacher sneak in the side door five minutes late. They see their teacher on their phone during recess. They can tell when their teacher is not prepared and on top of their game. When students observe these "Below the Line" actions/behaviors from educators over and over...they begin to see them as acceptable. What happens when students start to replicate the actions/behaviors they see their teachers model? Often times, they end up in trouble (or in my office). Folks, that's just not right! As an administrator, it is extremely difficult for me to punish a student for something I see their teacher do. Now before I go any further, I don't want readers to think I have a school full of "slackers". That's NOT the case at all! I have an excellent faculty/staff. They are truly awesome! However, in my seven years of administrative experience, I have had to address unprofessional actions/behaviors with teachers. These experiences helped me develop the expectations that I now communicate to my faculty every year.

As I stated before, my primary expectation is to always be Above the Line. The first major component of being Above the Line is being professional. So, what should professionalism look like for any/all educators? The following are a few basic/simple things teachers can focus on to ensure they are being professional:

- Be on time! It's really simple. If the school day starts at 8 AM, don't pull in the parking lot at 8 AM thinking you are on time. The students are probably rolling into the classroom, and guess what...no teacher in sight! This is a liability issue! As and administrator, we cannot have a room full of students unsupervised. If someone else is covering for you, you just put a monkey on their back! Educators have enough stress and responsibility...they don't need slackers putting more on them. If the day starts at 8 AM, you should be in your room, standing at the door greeting students, and prepared to start the day!

- Dress like a professional! Nothing is more unprofessional than seeing teachers show up wearing jeans with holes/frays or athletic wear (PE Teachers Excluded). How can we expect to be taken seriously by students, parents, and other stakeholders when we do not take our appearance seriously?

- Stay off your cell phone! Teachers should not be on the phone anytime they are in charge of supervising or instructing students. Limit cell phone use to planning and lunch times (away from students). I have had teachers come to me and ask to keep their phones out because of family/medical reasons. I have never had an issue in a case like this. I appreciated them coming to me and letting me know.

- No sarcasm! Sarcasm is nothing more than hostility disguised as humor. There is no place for it in the classroom. As a student, I had teachers that were very sarcastic (pretty much smart aleck)...but when a student threw sarcasm back at them, they wrote them up for being disrespectful. Again, its hard to punish a student for behaviors we model!

- Be Responsible, Reliable, and Respectful! Honestly, this should not have to be explained. As a principal, I have to trust that my teachers do what they are expected to do as professionals! This means they take care of business, meet dead lines, do what they say they will do, and treat everyone respectfully in the process.

- Be flexible! We all know that occasionally situations arise and the normal school day gets interrupted. There is nothing more frustrating and difficult to deal with during these times than a teacher that resists to cooperate! Most administrators do their best to protect instructional time. However, sometimes things happen...and sometimes we have to remember that we are building the "whole child". School programs/events play a part of this process.

- Be willing to learn! I don't care if you have been a teacher 20 days or 20 years...the day you think you know it all and don't need to grow professionally, RESIGN or RETIRE! Having a growth mindset is a huge part of being a professional. Our profession is ever changing, and it's our duty to keep up with current best practices.

- Be careful what you post on social media! I realize that teachers are human just like everyone else, and have personal lives. However, what is posted on social media is not personal or private! No matter how your accounts are set up, anyone with access to your page(s) can screenshot and share your posts to the public. This often tends to open Pandora's Box! Like it or not, this comes with the profession we have chosen.

These are just a few examples of how we can be more professional as educators. It is not a complete list, but I have found that when teachers consistently meet the above expectations, they also start to see more success in the classroom and growth in their profession. Also, I am always looking to put teachers into leadership roles at my school. However, I cannot (with good conscious) put someone in a leadership role if they do not take their job serious enough to prioritize a high level of professionalism.


Stepping off the soapbox...Wilds out!

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cash and Culture

listen to this podcast- https://static.wixstatic.com/mp3/5123cf_bf63cb75ff9a48199b2380e9098b6e74.mp3 or https://api.spreaker.com/v2/episodes/49348634/download.mp3

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page